Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Latest News: News

O'Quinn Named Nation's Top Mid-Major Player, Wins Lou Henson Award

Friday, March 30, 2012  
Share |

Norfolk State senior center Kyle O’Quinn added yet another impressive honor to his growing resume when he was named the winner of the 2012 Lou Henson Award as the nation’s top mid-major player on Wednesday evening.

The award – named in honor of former Illinois and New Mexico head coach Lou Henson – is awarded by to the nation’s top player who does not compete in what are generally regarded as the country’s 10 best conferences: the ACC, Big East, Big 10, Big 12, Pac-12, SEC, Conference USA, Mountain West, WAC and Atlantic 10. O’Quinn is the third winner of the award, following Butler’s Matt Howard in 2011 and Oakland’s Keith Benson in 2010.

O’Quinn won the award over an impressive field of 24 other athletes from around the country. Other finalists included AP All-American forward Doug McDermott of Creighton, center LaRon Dendy of Middle Tennessee State, and standout guards Isaiah Canaan of Murray State, Matthew Dellavedova of St. Mary’s and Casper Ware of Long Beach State.

The MEAC Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and MEAC Tournament Most Outstanding Performer, O’Quinn averaged 15.9 points, 10.3 rebounds and 2.7 blocks per game while leading the Spartans to a 26-10 record, the program’s first-ever MEAC title and a second-round NCAA Tournament win over No. 2 seed Missouri.

O’Quinn will receive his award this Friday during Final Four festivities in New Orleans.

Sign In